Monday’s Coverage of the Cats


>> takes a jab at ASU and new coach Todd Graham for proclaiming that he played a part for one-season turnarounds at West Virginia (3-8 in 2001 to 9-4 in 2002) and Tulsa (1-11 in 2002 to 8-4 in 2003). Well, truth is, he did because he was part of the staffs of those turnarounds, although it can be argued how much of a part he played. He coached on the defensive side at both places and it is cited in the article that the offenses, including the one coached by UA coach Rich Rodriguez at West Virginia, were responsible for the turnarounds.

>> Speaking of coaches, I decided to research which programs have used the most permanent head coaches since the Pac-10 was formed in 1978 with the inclusion of Arizona and ASU and if that has played a part in a program’s success or failure. The Wildcats have featured six while the Sun Devils have used eight (those numbers include Rodriguez and Graham, respectively). ASU has been to two Rose Bowls and UA none so obviously continuity is not a factor.

Stanford has utilized the most with 10 (an incredible average of one every 3.3 years) while Oregon the least with only three (Rich Brooks, Mike Bellotti and Chip Kelly). Five programs other than Arizona have hired six permanent coaches — Oregon State, USC, Utah, Washington and Washington State — while Cal and Colorado have hired seven. Utah and Colorado joined the Pac-12 last season. Oregon State, Cal and Arizona have not advanced to the Rose Bowl since the Pac-10 was formed. USC has been to 12 Rose Bowls in that span, Washington six and Washington State two.

>> Anthony Gimino of writes about Rodriguez’s attempts to improve Arizona’s anemic pass rush from a season ago when the Wildcats registered only 10 sacks. He also writes about talented freshman safety Leo Thomas of San Antonio quitting the team after one practice.

>> Great read by Gimino — He writes about former walk-on safety Jared Tevis — all 5-10 and 198 pounds of him — earning a scholarship by playing physical and taking down 260-pound fullback Taimi Tutogi

>> Steve Rivera reports for that UA receiver Richard Morrison is concentrating on getting healthy and playing his position — that of wide receiver and not quarterback — to perfection.

>> Ryan Finley of The Arizona Daily Star writes about the maturation of cornerback Shaquille Richardson who said that the expectation level of the players has been raised with the hiring of Rodriguez.

>> Finley also writes about specific changes in the program instituted to this point by Rodriguez

Note: Colorado and Utah joined the league to form the Pac-12 last season

Arizona (6)

Tony Mason (1978-1979)
Larry Smith (1980-1986)
Dick Tomey (1987-2000)
John Mackovic (2001-2003)
Mike Stoops (2004-2011)
Rich Rodriguez (2012-)

ASU (8)

Frank Kush (1978-1979)
Darryl Rogers (1980-1984)
John Cooper (1985-1987)
Larry Marmie (1988-1991)
Bruce Snyder (1992-2000)
Dirk Koetter (2001-2006)
Dennis Erickson (2007-2011)
Todd Graham (2012-)

Cal (7)

Roger Theder (1978-1981)
Joe Kapp (1982-1986)
Bruce Snyder (1987-1991)
Keith Gilbertson (1992-1995)
Steve Mariucci (1996)
Tom Holmoe (1997-2001)
Jeff Tedford (2002-)

Colorado (7)

Bill Mallory (1978)
Chuck Fairbanks (1979-1981)
Bill McCartney (1982-1994)
Rick Neuheisel (1995-1998)
Gary Barnett (1999-2005)
Dan Hawkins (2006-2010)
Jon Embree (2010-)

Oregon (3)

Rich Brooks (1978-1994)
Mike Bellotti (1995-2008)
Chip Kelly (2009-)

Oregon State (6)

Craig Fertig (1978-1979)
Joe Avezzano (1980-1984)
Dave Kragthorpe (1985-1990)
Jerry Pettibone (1991-1996)
Mike Riley (1997-1998 and 2003-)
Dennis Erickson (1999-2002)

Southern Cal (6)

John Robinson (1978-1982 and 1993-1997)
Ted Tollner (1983-1986)
Larry Smith (1987-1992)
Paul Hackett (1998-2000)
Pete Carroll (2001-2009)
Lane Kiffin (2010-)

Stanford (10)

Bill Walsh (1978 and 1992-1994)
Rod Dowhower (1979)
Paul Wiggin (1980-1983)
Jack Elway (1984-1988)
Dennis Green (1989-1991)
Tyrone Willingham (1995-2001)
Buddy Teevens (2002-2004)
Walt Harris (2005-2006)
Jim Harbaugh (2007-2010)
David Shaw (2011-)

UCLA (5)

Terry Donahue (1978-1995)
Bob Toledo (1996-2002)
Karl Dorrell (2003-2007)
Rick Neuheisel (2008-2011)
Jim Mora (2012-)

Utah (6)

Wayne Howard (1978-1981)
Chuck Stobart (1982-1984)
Jim Fassel (1985-1989)
Ron McBride (1990-2002)
Urban Meyer (2003-2004)
Kyle Whittingham (2005-)

Washington (6)

Don James (1978-1992)
Jim Lambright (1993-1998)
Rick Neuheisel (1999-2002)
Keith Gilbertson (2003-2004)
Tyrone Willingham (2005-2008)
Steve Sarkasian (2009-)

Washington State (6)

Jim Walden (1978-1986)
Dennis Erickson (1987-1988)
Mike Price (1989-2002)
Bill Doba (2003-2007)
Paul Wulff (2008-2011)
Mike Leach (2012-)

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.